a-z-architektouren

GUIDED ARCHTECTURE TOURS IN FRANKFURT AM MAIN
deutsch / nederlands

Frankfurt

Large town as world-player
Every visitor welcomes Frankfurt with its unique skyline. It consists of the high-rise buildings of the European central bank, the most powerful German banks and many important national and international firms.
The stock exchange and fair underline the importance of Frankfurt as a place international trade. Frankfurt is highly accessible via its airport, the largest one in Germany, giving flight passengers the occasion for a quick trip to the inner city.
Besides the high-rise area, Frankfurt also has parts with a more village-like character. That’s perhaps why many people feel at-home in Frankfurt and why people from different cultural backgrounds live there together quietly and harmoniously.
Further, these may be reasons why the quiet, small big-city is called ‘metropolis’.

Skyline
The high-rise buildings, remarkable for their architecture, rise along certain streets. A nice panorama is created by the old buildings of the Römerberg in front, and the tops of the Taunus mountains in the back and the Frankfurt skyscrapers in the middle.
The skyline is actually growing fast – in the inner city four striking office towers are being built (KSP Architekten) and soon construction will start for the towers of the European central bank, designed by the Austrian architects of Coop Himmelb(l)au.

Changement of harbours
Frankfurt not only consists of high-rise buildings. Interesting urban design projects have been realized beside the Main river banks: the Westhafen (west-harbor) area is almost complete with comfortable apartment buildings, remarkable office buildings and a marina. On the contrary, the Osthafen (east-harbour) area is a combination of old commercial houses and modern architecture. New developments are expected in the coming years in this area.

Museum river banks
On the south banks of the river Main are situated the art museum Städel and the collections of sculptures in the Liebieghaus. In the eighties the hybrid term Museumsufer (Museum banks) was coined. At that time four old villas were changed to museums by famous architects: the museum of applied arts (Richard Meier), the film museum (Helge Bofinger), the architecture museum (Oswald Mathias Ungers) and the museum of communication (Günther Behnisch)

‘Modern Frankfurt’
Of no lesser mention are the housing areas of the “New Frankfurt” (Neues Frankfurt) of the twenties. In different regions various housing typologies were built by the Frankfurt municipal architect Ernst May, but also by the architect of the Bauhaus Walter Gropius. Frankfurt thereby became an important place for workers’ housing in the Bauhaus style.

Excursions
Architecture excursions to Frankfurt give one the opportunity to be informed about the quality and charm of modern architecture. And don’t forget, Frankfurt is the seat of the German Architecture Museum (DAM Deutsches Architektur Museum).
Centrally situated in the German motorway and high speed train network, Frankfurt is ideal for an architecture- and museum weekend trip.

a-z-architektouren

ARCHITEKTURFÜHRUNGEN IN FRANKFURT AM MAIN
english / nederlands

Frankfurt

Kleine Großstadt als Weltspieler
Jeden Besucher empfängt Frankfurt mit seiner einzigartigen Skyline.
Sie besteht aus den Hochhäusern der Europäischen Zentralbank, der großen deutschen Geldinstitute und vieler national und international einflussreicher Firmen.
Börse und Messe unterstreichen die Bedeutung Frankfurts als wichtigem internationalem Handelsplatz. Durch seinen Flughafen, den größten Deutschlands und internationales Verkehrskreuz, ist es sehr gut erreichbar und bietet Fluggästen die Chance eines schnellen Abstechers in die Innenstadt.
Neben seinem Hochhausviertel besteht Frankfurt aber auch aus vielen Stadtteilen mit dörflichem Charakter und bietet vielleicht dadurch Heimat für seine Einwohner und ein bemerkenswert harmonisches und anregendes Miteinader verschiedener Kulturen.
Nicht zu Unrecht wird daher die vergleichsweise kleine Großstadt Frankfurt auch Metropole genannt.
Skyline
Die architektonisch markanten Hochhäuser sind städtebaulich entlang verschiedener Straßenzüge komponiert. Sie heben sich vor den Höhenzügen des Taunus ab und bieten einen reizvollen Kontrast mit den historischen Gebäuden in der Umgebung des Rathauses auf dem Römerberg.
Die Skyline wächst rasant weiter, momentan entstehen vier auffällige neue Bürohochhäuser im Stadtzentrum (KSP Architekten), und in näherer Zukunft ist Baubeginn für die neue Hauptverwaltung der Europäischen Zentralbank nach einem Entwurf der Architekten Coop Himmelb(l)au.
Hafenentwicklung
Aber Frankfurt besteht nicht nur aus Hochhäusern. Interessante städtebauliche Entwicklungen haben sich auch entlang des Mains vollzogen: beinahe fertig gestellt ist der Westhafen mit komfortablen Wohnhäusern, markanten Bürogebäuden und einer Marina. Eine Kombination von alter Gewerbearchitektur, Handelshöfen und moderner Architektur bietet hingegen der Osthafen. Hier sind in den nächsten Jahren weitere Veränderungen zu erwarten.
Museumsufer
Am südlichen Mainufer befinden sich das Kunstmuseum Städel und die Skulpturensammlung im Liebieghaus. In den achtziger Jahren wurde der Begriff Museumsufer geprägt. Vier alte Villen wurden damals von vier berühmten Architekten zu Museen umgebaut oder erweitert: das Museum für angewandte Kunst (Richard Meier), das Filmmuseum (Helge Bofinger), das Architekturmuseum (Oswald Mathias Ungers), das Museum für Kommunikation (Günther Behnisch).
Neues Frankfurt
Aber nicht zu vergessen sind in Frankfurt auch die Wohnsiedlungen des ‚Neuen Frankfurts’ aus den zwanziger Jahren. Verschiedene Typologien wurden von dem Frankfurter Stadtplaner Ernst May, aber auch z.B. Bauhausarchitekt Walter Gropius in der ganzen Stadt ausgeführt und haben sie zu einer Wiege modernen Wohnungsbaus werden lassen.
Exkursionen
Architekturexkursionen nach Frankfurt bieten Gelegenheit, sich von der Qualität der modernen Architektur dort zu überzeugen. Frankfurt ist schließlich nicht zuletzt Sitz des Deutschen Architekturmuseums
Zentral im Autobahn- und ICE-Netz gelegen, eignet sich Frankfurt ideal für ein Architektur- und Museumswochenende.